Now, take an empty hero-sheet in your hands and think about, what type of character your hero should be like. Read carefully the description of all these types in the type classification in chapter VI. Now take some D6 (remember? D6 means 6-sided dice) and begin rolling the dice to let fate fall on your characters' attributes.

Virtues (Good Attributes)

The expanded rules allow your hero to be characterized by the following seven virtues: COURAGE, WISDOM, INTUITION, CHARISMA, DEXTERIY, AGILITY and STRENGTH.

To determine the basic value for all of these virtues roll 8 times with your D6 and add 7 to every result. After that procedure you should have eight numbers ranging between 8 and 13. Erase the worst result and split up the other numbers on your seven virtues as you wish (though if you know exactly what kind of hero you wish to play, pay attention to the values you have to fulfill to be part of that particular guild, e.g. COURAGE for the warriors or WISDOM for the magician).

The Essence of Virtues

The ability, to deal with any situation whatsoever, in a quick and determined way, and further more the spirit of adventure, no fear of the new and unexplored or to take risks.


Intelligence and logical thinking, the ability to analyze a situation, coming to a conclusion, in front of all from the ancient knowledge in books and a food memory.


The ability, to take the right decision without thinking too long, the relatively good direct capture of a situation or a person without knowing any facts.


Personal aura, rhetoric knowledge and good leadership, physical appearance, a well balanced voice; and last but not least your magical aura.


The slick motion of fingers, the perfect coordination of hand and vision, in front of all in working with pens and keys.


The general physical flexibility and mobility, fast reactions and reflexes, a good estimation of the range of arms and legs, leaping strength and coordination, supple movements.


Shear muscle strength, the ability to force it where you like and a quantity for constitution, stamina and toughness.

Flaws (Bad Attributes)

Your characters must cope with are SUPERSTITION, FEAR OF HEIGHT, AGORAPHOBIA, NECROPHOBIA, CURIOSITY, GREED and IRASCIBILITY. At the beginning you must determine them as the virtues.

Thus throw your D6 seven times and add 1 to any result, so that you gain results in a range from 2 to 7 and split them up on the seven flaws. There is no such thing as a "bad" result to delete for flaws.

The Essence of Flaws

The belief of symbols of any kind (from black cats to red hair or even ghosts in the light of day) as well as to divine remedies, talismans and prophecies.


Dizzy feelings in relatively low altitudes; fear of climbing onto steep cliffs and to look into a steep valley.


Constriction, fear and incapacity to act ranging to panic in narrow, dark caves and gaps as well as in crowded rooms or market places.


Fear of everything dealing with death and dying, in front of all burial sites, graves, Boron priests, but as well fresh dead bodies and panic when faced with the undead.


Well, sort of the basic definition of an adventurous spirit, but unhealthy if too much of it, the bad attribute to topple into any danger when faced with new and exciting things.


A hero will forget everything around him when gold, silver or emeralds shine around him or a fulfilled task will give him lots of money, at high values they even try to steal precious artefacts or rob their fellow heroes.


The tendency to overreact when provoked, choleric behaviour, the hero tends to get into a fight quickly.

Exchange of Attributes

If you rolled the dice and divided them up between your good and bad attributes, you fulfilled the basic conditions to be a hero but perhaps you failed to get the values needed for your special type you chose. Maybe you are even unsatisfied with the character you just generated. Therefore there is the possibility to exchange attribute points. A flaw, however, is twice more than a virtue in that case, i.e. to raise your value in a virtue by 1 you have to raise a flaw by 2 or two flaws by one. If you want to decrease your value in a flaw you have to decrease your value in a virtue by two or in two virtues by one. Every attribute may only be shiftet to one direction in this movement of points. Thus, you cannot swap around for an infinite amount of time; if you failed totally, throw the dice one more time and let them decide whether you will finally succeed.

After finishing this exchange program your hero should be eligible to be the type of hero you want him to be. Otherwise you accept him to be something else or rather start your new dice rolls (see above).

The virtues must be in the range of 8 to 13 and the flaws in the range of 2 and 8 after the exchange (remember: no superheroes with flaws you cannot manage to role-play!)

How tests on virtues are done, i.e. how you throw the dice, is explained in the preliminary rules. To remind you we will explain how you throw the dice when testing your flaws. You succeed in a dice roll if the number you roll on a D20 is less than your value. In this case, however, you succeeded in your flaw, i.e. your flaw forces its way to the surface and you will fail your test. That is when you succeed in a dice roll for a virtue your test result (i.e. the effects to be declared by the gamemaster) is positive, when you succeed in a dice roll for a flaw your test result (i.e. the effects) is negative.


Reto has a CURIOSITY value of 7. Testing his CURIOSITY he throws his D20. If he throws a value in-between 1 and 7 his CURIOSITY test suceededs, i.e. he will so curious as to open up the secret box, although he has the feeling there is going to be something terribly wrong.

Source URL: